Executive Council

President Shelby Kennedy (Local 14)
Vice President Dwayne Whynot (Local 16)

Secretary Mona Deveau (Local 16)
Treasurer Leslie Anderson (Local 13)

Local  2 – Halifax Regional Centre for Education
Tim Green, Mike Trider (Alternate)

Local 12 – Canadian Blood Services, Nova Scotia
Michael Hill, Debbie MacKenzie (Alternate)

Local 13 – Halifax Regional Municipality
Aviva Donaldson, Kim Taylor (Alternate)

Local 14 – Halifax Public Libraries
Vacant, Duane Kaiser (Alternate)

Local 15 –  Homes for Independent Living
Catherine Old, Vacant (Alternate)

Local 16 – Conway Workshop Association
Robert Adams, Vacant (Alternate)

Local 17 – Quality Inn Airport Hotel Halifax
Sharon Markie, Ronalda Fisher (Alternate)

Local 19  – Canadian Blood Services, Prince Edward Island
Tanya Herrell, Patti Hooley (Alternate)

Local 22 – Cole Harbour Place
Robert Styles, Marla Brooks (Alternate)

The NSUPE Executive Council oversees the union. The Council is responsible to ensure:

  • that NSUPE’s goal of providing a high level of in-the-workplace service continues
  • that each Local is kept informed of what other Locals are doing
  • that Locals be brought together for co-operative purposes
  • that the finances and activities of the whole Union are coordinated for the benefit of the Locals and the membership
  • the organization of new Locals
  • the hiring of union staff and other professional assistance
  • a liaison with other organizations such as the Confederation of Canadian Unions.